Floral design Barbie bikinis

Somehow I am huge fan of crochet Barbie bikinis and other beachwear. However, I have started to look something unique and different from usual simple halterneck. So I came up with this floral design Barbie bikinis.

Blue flowery bikinis1

I just love how they turned out. The bikinis are made with three different colors. I love colors, so there’s lots of room to play with them.

Blue flowery bikinis3

The bikini top is made of two flower motif and four braids. Usually, it is quite hard to tie the braids of the top since they are to short and thick, but I made the braids longer and thinner. I’m not a huge fan of braids just made of chain stiches, so I think this solution I came up is better.

On the first picture the braids are made of chain stiches only. The second picture shows my designed braids and on the third picture, there are usual braids of bikini top.

On the first picture the braids are made of chain stiches only. The second picture shows my designed braids and on the third picture, there are usual braids of bikini top.

When it comes to the bikini bottoms, I struggled with this pattern a long time. I really hoped that I could figure out some pattern where I don’t have to use any snaps or braids. Unfortunately, those attempts failed. Instead, I sticked to the braids. I made the bottoms similar to these bikini bottoms. Instead of one row, I made to rows. I think the color comes out better and the braids feel much stronger. And I love the part how the back curves a bit, so it fits great with the bottom. Oh, it is so easy to bind beautiful ties.

Blue flowery bikinis_collage67This set of bikinis is now available at my Etsy shop. Go and check them out! I’m planning to make pattern of this (I’m currently working on it). So stay in touch!

I’d like to know what do you think of these bikinis. Please share your opinion!

Leave a comment